New Mississippi law means you don’t need bail to get out of jail
A new Mississippi law passed by the Supreme Court might mean you don’t need to pay a bail agent to get out of jail.
That’s welcome news in a state with some of the poorest citizens and highest bail fees.
In a Report by the Marshall project they outlined how Mississippi bond practices are changing.
Now you must see a judge within 48 hours. If you are not a flight risk or a danger to society, the judge must release you on a signed “promise to appear”.
You still have the option to bond out if you want out faster than 48 hours. Bond is still required on felony charges.
This comes on the heels of the department of insurance and even the FBI investigating the practices of bail bondsmen.