New enforcement of an existing Mississippi law could have you paying much more in fines.
It was already a law in Mississippi that you had to have liability insurance. But, previously, the $600 fine could have been lowered to $200 if you got insurance after the fact.
This is part of a series of New Mississippi Laws that took affect July 1st.
That law is no longer in place. If you do not have liability insurance and you are ticketed, you must pay the entire fine amount.
Simple solution? Get the insurance. It will save you and other drivers a lot of potential headache. Plus it is the law.