Tippah County News

Tippah County declared federal disaster due to storm damage

MEMA announced that President Trump declared Tippah County part of a federal disaster area.

The declaration is a result of storm damage from Olga in October.

From MEMA:

ANNOUNCEMENT: Today Governor Phil Bryant announced that President Trump declared 16 counties as federal disaster areas following the severe storm, straight-line winds and flooding that occurred due to Tropical Storm Olga.

The counties declared for public assistance:
Alcorn, Covington, Itawamba, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Leake, Lee, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Scott, Simpson, Smith and Tippah.

Jon Ross Myers

Jon Ross Myers is the executive editor and publisher of the Mississippi News Network, Mississippi's largest digital only media company. He can be reached at editor@tippahnews.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *